Skip Navigation

The Wilkes Award

Announcing the Winner of The Computer Journal Wilkes Award for 2011

We are pleased to announce the winning paper of the Wilkes Award for volume 54 (2011). This article is now available free online; simply click on the title below to read.

Winning paper
Enforcing role-based access control for secure data storage in the cloud
Lan Zhou, Vijay Varadharajan and Michael Hitchens
Vol 54, Issue 10 (p. 1675-1687)

About the Wilkes Award

The Wilkes Award is given for the best paper published in a volume of The Computer Journal. It is awarded each year to the author or authors of one paper appearing in the previous volume (year). The Award consists of some £500 purchase vouchers from Oxford University Press.

The Wilkes Award is named after Sir Maurice Wilkes, who was Director of the Cambridge Computer Laboratory throughout the whole development of stored program computers starting with EDSAC; inventor of labels, macros and microprogramming; with David Wheeler and Stanley Gill, the inventor of a programming system based on subroutines.

Criteria for the Award are originality and quality of theme and treatment. The judgment is made by members of the Editorial Board.

Previous Winners
Click here to read past winning articles online.